Republican States Seek Extension Of Title 42, Say Removal Will ‘Directly Harm’ Them

Border Patrol

At a glance

  • The states requesting to intervene are Arizona, Louisiana, Alabama, Alaska, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming.
  • “Because invalidation of the Title 42 Orders will directly harm the States, they now seek to intervene to offer a defense of the Title 42 policy so that its validity can be resolved on the merits, rather than through strategic surrender,” the filing said.
  • “[B]order states like Arizona and Texas will face increased migrant flows and increasd [sic] releases of aliens if the Title 42 process is terminated. Those aliens will flow to other States, too,” it added, noting that “[w]herever those aliens end up, they will impose financial burdens on the States involuntarily hosting them.”

Top News Stories