File Under:

Post-Roe Differences Surface In GOP Over New Abortion Rules

At a glance

  • The Supreme Court ruling paved the way for severe abortion restrictions or bans in nearly half the states. Nine states currently have laws banning abortion from conception, with three more — Tennessee, Idaho and Texas — set to take effect on Aug. 25.
  • Three states — Georgia, South Carolina and Ohio — have laws banning abortion when fetal cardiac activity is detected, at about six weeks.
  • Florida’s law bans abortion at 15 weeks, and Arizona’s will as of Sep. 24.

More from

View all



More Stories