Lisa Murkowski Wins Re-Election In U.S. Senate

WASHINGTON, DC - NOVEMBER 16: : Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) leaves a meeting with the Senate Republicans at the U.S. Capitol on November 16, 2022 in Washington, DC. During the meeting Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) overcame a challenge from Sen. Rick Scott (R-FL) and was re-elected as the Senate Republican leader for the new Congress. (Photo by Anna Moneymaker/Getty Images)

At a glance

  • After the second-choice votes were counted, Murkowski ended up beating Tshibaka, 53.7% to 46.3%.
  • “I am honored that Alaskans — of all regions, backgrounds and party affiliations — have once again granted me their confidence to continue working with them and on their behalf in the U.S. Senate,” Murkowski said in a statement after the results were announced. “I look forward to continuing the important work ahead of us.”
  • Alaska Governor Mike Dunleavy also won re-election, becoming the state’s first governor since 1998 to do so.

Top News Stories