File Under: ,

House GOPers Who Helped Pass Dems Electoral College Bill Won’t Be Back


At a glance

  • The Presidential Election Reform Act on Wednesday night passed the Democrat-controlled House 229-203.
  • Bill was crafted by two members of the chamber’s special committee investigating the Jan. 6, 2021, Capitol riot that disrupted Congress’ certification process.
  • The members are California Democratic Rep. Zoe Lofgren and Wyoming GOP Rep. Liz Cheney, the panel’s vice chairperson.
  • In addition to Cheney, the other eight House Republicans who voted for the bill were Reps. Jaime Herrera Beutler, of Washington; Anthony Gonzalez, of Ohio; Tom Rice, of South Carolina; Peter Meijer and Fred Upton, both of Michigan; Chris Jacobs and John Katko, both of New York; and Illinois’ Adam Kinzinger – the only other Republican besides Cheney on the special committee.
  • Beutler, Cheney, Herrera, Meijer and Rice lost their reelection primaries to challengers backed by former President Trump. Gonzalez, Jacobs, Katko, Kinzinger and Upton have announced their retirement from the House.



More Stories